Skip to content

Meet our team

Our team at NEOGAP consists of highly skilled and motivated professionals from diverse backgrounds, including academia and the pharmaceutical industry. With extensive experience and a track record of success, we are committed to advancing the field of cancer immunotherapy. We work together to develop innovative solutions that are at the forefront of cutting-edge cancer research, with a focus on personalised immunotherapy to combat cancer.

Hans Grönlund

CSO and founder
PhD,  Assoc Prof  Karolinska Institutet

With over 30 years of experience in academic research and the pharmaceutical industry, Hans is a seasoned expert in the field. He has previously served as Director of the Reagents Department at Pharmacia Diagnostics and founded Medi-Tec R&D. Hans is also an Associate Professor of Immunology and Research Group Leader at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience at Karolinska Institutet.


Guro Gafvelin

PhD, Assoc Prof Karolinska Institutet

With a career spanning over 25 years, Guro is a renowned expert in immunological research, particularly in the area of T-cells. She has conducted research at Karolinska Institutet and served as the former Director of Immunology at Viscogel, where she managed an EU project that included a phase I/II clinical trial. Guro is also an Associate Professor of Molecular Immunology at Karolinska Institutet.


Samuel Svensson

PhD, Prof Linköping University

Samuel brings over 25 years of experience in pharmaceutical development to NEOGAP. He has served as Head of Department and Project Leader at AstraZeneca R&D, where he successfully took three substances from development into phase I clinical trials. Samuel is also a Co-founder of Alzecure Foundation and serves as a Board Member for Biopercept Ltd, Celluminova, and Oxiant Discovery.

In addition to his industry experience, Samuel is an Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology and Chemistry at Linköping University, where he contributes to the education and training of the next generation of scientists.


Andrea Salmén

MSc Engineering Biology

Andrea is a highly experienced professional in the biopharmaceutical industry. Her career has included roles as a Project Manager at Cobra Biologics, as well as experience at AstraZeneca bioprocess R&D, Recipharm, and Scandinavian Development Services.


Hanjing Xie

MD, PhD, Assoc Prof Karolinska Institutet

Hanjing has over 25 years of experience from both the pharmaceutical industry, at companies such as Idogen, Oncopeptides, and Bayer, and from university hospitals and institutes, such as the Karolinska University Hospital, the Karolinska Institute, and St. Göran's hospital. She is an associate professor and senior consultant in oncology, holds a PhD in clinical pharmacology, and has board certifications in clinical oncology, internal medicine, and hematology.


Key Operational Team

Board of Directors


The following four members have been appointed to constitute the nomination committee for the time until a new nomination committee is appointed:

  • Peter Svanlund, Victoria Bioventure Ltd
  • Hans Grönlund, founder
  • Olle Wahlqvist, AB-Ility
  • Mats Lind, Polynom Investment AB

Read the nomination committee’s statement for the Annual General Meeting on June 28, 2024 (in Swedish)

Scientific Advisory Board


Medical doctor who serves on the Scientific Advisory Boards of several leading healthcare companies, including Novo Nordisk, Zealand Pharma, BioInvent International, and Hansa Medical.

MD, PhD  

Professor in experimental oncology at Karolinska Institutet and a senior consultant at the Oncology Clinic of Karolinska Hospital, known for his pioneering work in immunotherapy, particularly his discovery of natural killer (NK) cells.


Life sciences professional who has held leadership positions at RegSmart Life Sciences, Swedish MPA, Sofus, Orexo, and AstraZeneca.

MD, PhD 

Professor in neurology at Karolinska Institutet and a former member of the Nobel Assembly.